2016 George Bass Surfboat Marathon moves on to day four | pictures, video

Four crews are vying for overall men’s champion after four days of the 2016 George Bass Surfboat Marathon on January 6.

Coogee leaped to title contenders after taking out today’s amended leg out of Horseshoe Bay to Cemetery Beach Tilba and back.

Coogee sits equal first with Bulli while Moruya Vikings and Long Reef are equal second just one point behind.

Marathon organiser Andrew Edmunds said at this stage of the race it was unclear who would be the 2016 champions.

“It is just fantastic to have the seven-day marathon going down to the wire,” he said.

“Anyone could win it from here.”

Tomorrow is traditionally the toughest leg, a 35-kilometre race from Bermagui to Tathra.

Edmunds said the organising committee was hopeful it could run its usual course, but were still concerned about a strong southerly wind that is forecast.

“We will still need to look at conditions in the morning and make a decision,” he said.

“The rowers have all been fantastic this week with the course changing on a regular basis.”

During today’s race one competitor was treated for hypothermia and a ski competitor withdrew.

Stan Gorton of the Narooma News caught up with the Narooma masters’ crew after the fourth leg.

George Bass Marathon day four results

Ski race

1. Stew O’Regan, 1:37.28

2. Nic Ziviani, 1:39.30​

3. Andrew Stone, 1:49.58  

4. Craig Vipond, 1:49:58

5. Chris Ryan, 1:53:02

6.Ed Gwynne, did not finish

Masters Women

1. Pambula, 1:52:48      

2. Broulee Bats, 1:59:37   

3. Warriewood, 2:02:02    

4. Anglesea, 2:05:42

Open Women

1. Moruya/Long Reef, 1:48:36

2. Broulee Capitals, 1:52:09

3. Met Caloundra, 1:55:42

4. Wollongong City 1:57:39

Masters Men

1. Narooma,1:38:27

2. Nth Cronulla, 1:40:03

3. Tallebudgera, 1:43:08  

4. Tathra,  1:46:17

5. Yeppoon, 1:47:35

6. Bulli, 1:51:34

7. Pambula-Tathra Juniors, 1:54:35

Open Men

1. Coogee, 1:37:51

2. Long Reef, 1:38:39

3. Bulli, 1:40:10

4. Moruya/Vikings, 1:41:53

5. Pambula, 1:46:40

Overall point score 

Open Men

=1st Bulli 5 points

=1st Coogee 5 points

=2nd Moruya Vikings 6 points

=2nd Long Reef 6 points

5th place Pambula 16 points

Masters Men

1st Narooma 1 point

2nd North Cronulla 5 points

3rd Tallebudgera 8 points

4th Yeppoon 12 points

5th Tathra 14 points

6th Bulli 19 points

7th Pambula/Tathra Juniors 24 points

Open Women

1st Long Reef Moruya  0 points

2nd Broulee Capitals 4 points

3rd Met Caloundra 9 points

4th Wollongong City 16 points

Masters Women

1st Pambula 0 points

2nd Broulee Bats 4 points

3rd Warriewood 9 points

4th Anglesea 11 points

Ski Race

Overall score not available yet.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide